Dominic Raab out of Tory leadership race as five proceed

Category : UK News
Updated On : June 19, 2019 02:03 AM
By Indian Times Daily

Dominic Raab has been knocked out of the Tory leadership race in the latest ballot of MPs, leaving five candidates in the battle to be the next PM. Boris Johnson once again came top of the ballot, with 126 votes - 12 more than in the first round.

Jeremy Hunt, Michael Gove, Sajid Javid and Rory Stewart also got enough votes to make it into the next round. Mr Raab was eliminated after coming last with 30 votes, three fewer than the minimum needed to progress.

The former Brexit secretary had called for the UK to leave the EU without a deal on 31 October if necessary. He also caused controversy by refusing to rule out suspending Parliament to thwart attempts by MPs to block a no-deal Brexit

The surviving five candidates are taking part in a live BBC debate in central London. And the next ballot will take place on Wednesday, with the candidate with the lowest number of votes eliminated. On leaving the contest, Mr Raab wished the remaining candidates good luck in the BBC debate.

Please enter valid email!

Show Please enter password!

Forgot your password?

Please enter name!

Please enter name!

Please enter valid email!

Show At least 6 characters

Lost your password? Please enter your email address. You will receive a link to create a new password.

Please enter valid email!

Back to log-in